top of page

Your Partner in Advancing Science, ADN CoE

Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Historic icon overlooking the Bosphorus

Nestled amidst picturesque gardens, you’ll find an iconic Istanbul hotel with a storied 60-year history. Rooms and suites offer modern conveniences and private balconies overlooking the Bosphorus and the Old Town. Resort-style amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, fabulous dining, Turkish baths and spa, and dedicated children’s facilities.

Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus  is a five star hotel in Istanbul, Turkey. Designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, it opened in 1955 as the hotel  is the longest operating Hilton Hotel outside the United States.

The Hilton Hotel was built upon the confiscated property of a former Armenian cemetery. The groundbreaking took place in the summer of 1952. 

The eleven-story building, in the form of a rectangular prism with dimensions of 21 m × 100 m (69 ft × 328 ft), represents modern architecture. The building was erected on a green hillside with a panoramic view of the Bosphorus and is very close to the busy Taksim Square.[1][6][7] The building is a combination of the modern lines of Gordon Bunshaft with the rich artistic and romantic elements of Ottoman and Turkish architecture, implemented by Sedat Hakkı Eldem.[1] As an example of Orientalism, the roof of the main entrance, designed by Eldem, resembles a flying carpet.[8] The decorative tiles came from Kütahya, and the carpets for the rooms covering 12,500 m2 (135,000 sq ft) were woven in Konya by hand.[1]

After completing the construction work in a record time of 21 months, the hotel became the largest in Eastern Europe and the Middle East.[1]

The hotel was temporarily opened on May 20, 1955. The official opening took place in a ceremony on June 10, 1955 in presence of Conrad N. Hilton,[9][10] Fahrettin Kerim Gökay, Governor and Mayor of Istanbul, as well as American guests and celebrities, who came the day before on a chartered flight. Among them were Terry Moore, Olivia de Havilland, Mona Freeman, Irene Dunne, Sonja Henie, Diana Lynn, Merle Oberon, Ann Miller, Lon McCallister, Keefe Brasselle, Leo Carrillo and Elaine Shepard.[1]

bottom of page